Keynote Speakers

Larry DeWerd


Dr. Larry DeWerd is a Professor of Medical Physics at the University of Wisconsin – Madison, and Director of the Medical Radiation Research Center (MRRC), which he started in 1977. The Accredited Dosimetry Calibration Laboratory (ADCL), which he also started, was accredited in 1981 and is a part of the University of Wisconsin MRRC.

Prof. DeWerd has served the American Association of Physicists in Medicine in a number of capacities, for example, a member of the Therapy committee, the Calibration Laboratory Accreditation subcommittee and chair of the brachytherapy subcommittee. In addition he has been chair and member on a number of working groups and task groups. He was president of the North Central Chapter of the AAPM. He is a Fellow of the AAPM. He also has served on a number of international, national and state committees involving medical physics and as President of the Council of Ionizing Radiation Measurements and Standards, received the Randall Caswell award in 2008 for Distinguished achievements in the field of Ionizing radiation measurements and standards.

He, along with his graduate students, is instrumental in the development of new calibration techniques. He has published over 180 peer reviewed research papers, technical reports and conference manuscripts and contributed eleven chapters to published books. He is the author of the book, “The Phantoms of Medical and Health Physics,” published by Springer. He has given over 150 invited lectures. He has won the Farrington Daniels award for the best papers in Medical Physics in 2008, 2012 and 2014. He received the Quimby award of the AAPM in July 2015.

Peter J Hoskin MD

Peter HoskinPeter Hoskin trained in clinical oncology at the Royal Marsden Hospital London and has been consultant in clinical oncology at Mount Vernon Cancer Centre, Northwood UK since 1992.He is also Professor in Clinical Oncology at University College London.

Research interests have ranged from palliative radiotherapy to the use of radiosensitisers and brachytherapy. Current research programmes focus on radiotherapy quality assurance, palliative radiotherapy, and the role of HDR brachytherapy in prostate cancer; over 300 original papers and reviews and 8 textbooks have been published.

Other activities include: elected member of ESTRO board, chair of the GEC ESTRO prostate brachytherapy group UROGEC, course organiser for the ESTRO prostate brachytherapy course, Chair of the FRCR examination board, Past Editor of Clinical Oncology and currently Clinical Editor of Radiotherapy and Oncology, member of the Editorial Boards of the Journal of Contemporary Brachytherapy and the Journal of Bone Oncology.

Michael J. Zelefsky M.D

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center PRGs

Dr Michael Zelefsky is Professor of Radiation Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and co-leader of Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Genitourinary Disease Management Team. He has national and international recognition the field of radiation therapy and in particular in the area of Prostate Cancer. Dr Zelefsky is the Chief of Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Brachytherapy Service and Vice-Chair of Clinical Research for the Department.

Dr Zelefsky is recognized in pioneering the use of IMRT (intensity-modulated radiation therapy) and IGRT (image-guided radiotherapy) for treating men with prostate cancer. His recent studies have demonstrated that IGRT has been associated with improved tumor control outcomes and reduced toxicity. He has established through his clinical research the importance of dose escalation in the treatment of prostate radiotherapy and has also been instrumental in developing intraoperative methods to enhance the accuracy of brachytherapy which has led to improved long-term outcomes with this modality.

Dr Zelefsky is the Editor-in-Chief of Brachytherapy, a medical journal that addresses all aspects of this sub-specialty and is a past president of the American Brachytherapy Society.He has been honored with many awards including the Boyer Award for Excellence in Clinical research, the Outstanding Teaching Award in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering, the 2009 Henschke Medal (the highest award of the American Brachytherapy Society for achievements in Brachytherapy), and the 2009 Emanuel Van Descheuren Award for Excellence in Translational Research. DrZelefsky is a frequently sought after lecturer nationally and internationally about prostate radiotherapy.


Guest Speaker

Stephen Langley MS FRCS UROL


Stephen Langley is a Consultant Urological Surgeon at the Royal Surrey County Hospital and the St Luke’s Cancer Centre in Guildford.  He became a Consultant in 1998 and then after 6 years he was appointed as Professor of Urology at the Post Graduate Medical School of the University of Surrey, where he co-leads a major research program in the field of prostate cancer

In 1999 he pioneered the treatment of early prostate cancer by brachytherapy in the UK. To date he and his large team have successfully treated over 2500 men with this treatment.

In 2012 he published and presented the technique of 4D Brachytherapy using both stranded and loose seeds in a one-stage procedure with real-time dosimetry.  This technique delivers an improved radiation dose to the prostate whist reducing the side effects compared to earlier techniques.

His passion to improve the care for prostate cancer patients led him in 2003 to invent the technique of prostate template biopsy. This new method allows the surgeon to diagnose and monitor cancerous changes within the prostate in a more detailed and specific way. This technique developed in Guildford, has been NICE approved and is now used throughout Europe.

Professor Langley is a pioneering clinician and in recent years he has trained as a robotic surgeon.  He uses a Da Vinci robot to surgically remove cancerous prostate glands from patients as another tool in his armamentarium to treat prostate cancer patients.

He is the Chairman of the UK Prostate Brachytherapy Advisory Group and sits on the Department of Health’s Prostate Cancer Advisory Group, influencing national policy.  In 2005 he received the Karl Stortz Golden Cystoscope awarded from the British Association of Urological Surgeons for an outstanding contribution to British Urology.  In 2013 he received a Silver Clinical Excellence award.